Holy Grail Alert: MUAC’s BHA Serum Has Snatched My Edges

bha 9

Ya girl is back at it with the skincare reviews, and my edges have been snatched. When I say snatched, I mean that my hairline starts at the back of my damn head. That’s how great this serum I’m going to review is. I deadass have found my first skincare holy grail, and lemme tell y’all that I’m hype as fuck. Who knew skincare made me so happy? Anyways lemme give y’all a bit of backstory on how I found this wonderful BHA serum. Recently, on an impulse buy, I bought a ton of peels from Makeup Artists’ Choice aka MUAC, and a couple of serums after my most recent disappointments with skincare products. Honestly, I initially side eyed the fuck out of the company because most of their products had five stars and I assumed that robots were writing reviews or some mess. After lurking MakeupAlley (bless that website) for 4039400 years, I tossed my cynicism aside and took the plunge.

Here’s a very brief explanation on what a BHA is if you have no idea what the fuck I’m talking about: To start, BHA stands for Beta-Hydroxy Acid. A BHA essentially works by penetrating your pores and getting all that nasty shit outta your pores(hence the purging phase). The most common BHA is salicylic acid, which is what this serum contains. If you’re allergic to aspirin do not use a BHA containing saliclyic acid.

Some really lit links if you want to learn more about BHAs:

Paula’s Choice

r/SkincareAddiction

Truth In Aging

The Claims

 

MUAC Beta Hydroxy Serum claims to control oily skin, blackheads, and whiteheads. “Deep clean your pores with the strength of your choice, 3-4 times a week to keep deeply embedded dirt and sebum under control.” The serum apparently has a pH of 2.3 and claims that for acne sufferers the serum will take 2-3 weeks to decongest your pores.

 

The Ingredients

 

  • SD Alcohol 40 B
  • Propylene Glycol
  • Salicylic Acid
  • Menthol Crystals

 

Lemme be real with y’all: I was very, very, hesitant to even put this shit on my face because of the menthol, and alcohol. I was extremely concerned that the menthol would irritate my skin and the alcohol would dry out my skin. Luckily for me, none of that occurred, but if you have sensitive skin I’d advise for you to tread lightly with this one. Aside from those two concerns, I appreciate that the ingredient list is extremely short and that I know exactly what I’m getting in the serum.

Performance

 

To be clear, I just want to mention that before buying the full size pictured above, I bought the sample size which MUAC sells on their website. At $6 for .5 oz, I didn’t really have much to lose.

bha 9 sample

                                               A smol sample of the serum.

When I first rubbed this on my face, I was not impressed at all. First of all, the serum smelled like fucking alcohol. It was like I poured a bottle of rubbing alcohol all over my face. Secondly, the serum’s consistency is very, very watery. It’s literally just like water in your hands. After rubbing it into my face, I noticed that it dried very quickly. I do appreciate that it didn’t leave any sticky residue or weird film on my face. Then, the tingling began. I just want to note that I’m an experienced BHA user, and the tingling on this was almost painful. It felt like I was pricking my skin with tiny needles over and over again. In that moment, I prayed to the skincare gods that after all this damn tingling, I would wake up to flawless skin.

The next morning I woke up, ran to the mirror, and JACK SHIT happened. My skin still looked like the same, dull, pimply mess it usually was. I was ready to run to my laptop and start typing a scathing review like the disgruntled customer I was until I reminded my ass that actives need a couple of weeks to work. Thank the skincare gods I didn’t throw the serum out because the results I saw over the next couple of weeks were nothing less than a damn miracle. After about two weeks, I started purging. Hard. Every morning I’d noticed little white and black things coming out of my forehead. My forehead also became a bit flaky, but that was easily solved by upping my moisturizer game(shout out to Eucerin). I noticed that the stubborn closed comedones on my temples and forehead were slowly shrinking. Most importantly, after two weeks I completely stopped breaking out on my cheeks. I’d usually get large pimples on my cheeks that in turn left horrible hyperpigmentation on my cheeks, but those disappeared.

Fast forward to today. Currently I have NO breakouts. Zero. Zilch. Nada. Negative. For the first time in a long time, I can say that I have clear skin. Now, I’m gonna keep it real with y’all: my skin still isn’t perfect. My forehead is still purging a bit, but my closed comedones are almost gone except for a few stragglers. While I haven’t noticed this controlling my oil ass forehead, or reducing any dark spots, I’ve noticed that my skin is baby soft. All in all, this serum has my skin at the best it’s ever been, and as an acne sufferer, it means a lot to me. After I used up the sample bottle, which lasted a surprisingly long time, I bought the full size 4 oz bottle for $28.95. It was money well spent, but I have a really petty complaint about the packaging. The dispenser for the full size packaging is very inconvenient to use and you can’t really control how much of the serum you pour out. I’ve wasted a bit more serum than I wanted to because of this. Aside from that, this serum was money well spent (although my wallet is crying softly).

Conclusion

 

MUAC’s BHA 9 is the GOAT of any serum I’ve ever tried. This serum has completely eliminated my acne, and greatly reduced my closed comedones. After trying out many crappy products, this serum stands out as a beacon of light in a sea of struggle skincare products. The only other thing I could note is that the menthol and alcohol in this could possibly be irritating ingredients to those with sensitive skin, so again, I’d advise for y’all to tread carefully with this product. Also, if you have never used a BHA before, do not start with the BHA 9%. If you want to incorporate a BHA into your routine, MUAC offers a 3% serum, Paula’s Choice offers a 2% serum and COSRX offers a BHA serum(unknown %).

Rating: 5/5

Madblackthot’s Rating Scale

1 – What kind of fuckshit? Would give this product to my worst enemy.

2-  Mess. Trash ass product with one redeeming quality.

3 – Meh. Wouldn’t repurchase.

4 – It’s lit! Great product.

5 – My edges have been completely snatched to the gods. Holy grail of holy grails!

 I told y’all I was going to finally give a positive review. On a serious note: The shooting that happened in Orlando yesterday was a disgusting hate crime against black and Latinx LGBT community and I really don’t understand how gun control laws haven’t been enacted. I really don’t. When an individual can buy a fucking assault rifle and shoot over 50 people in a matter of minutes, we have a fucking problem. 

 

Talk 2 Me

